Even if disabling workspaces is for new Ubuntu users, why on earth does the installer disables them for *old* users like me during the *upgrade* (not a fresh install)? I found this bug https://bugs.launchpad.net/ayatana-design/+bug/868423 where the rationale for this move is explained… The answer is not convincing and there is no evidence to support the decision. If this was my product I would have preferred to keep the option and worked on teaching new users how to make advantage of it: you gain users by showing the power of a tool, not by dumbing it down to the lowest common denominator.